In June 2017 we made some updates to the workflow of how Default Widgets are customized.  These updates are intended to prevent a website owner from accidentally creating a custom version of a Default Widget when not necessary, which will help insure all websites are using the most up-to-date code at all times.


For more information about the basic concepts of widgets, we would recommend taking a look at the following articles first:


Please see the important information below about how the system will guide you as a website owner to only create custom widgets when necessary.




Once a custom version of a widget is saved with the same name as a Default Widget, the customized widget will always be used on the website instead of the Default Widget.


If there is a customized widget that has the same name as a Default Widget on a website (the Default Widget has been customized), the customized widget will always override the Default Widget.  This means that if there is a customized version of a widget on your website, this will prevent your site from receiving updates that are made to the Default Widget by the Brilliant Directories team.


IMPORTANT: Unless you have made necessary changes to a customized widget, we highly recommend disabling or deleting the customized widget so your website will continue using the latest version of the Default Widget.  For instructions on how to do this, please see this article: Widget Manager Overview




If a custom version of a widget has the exact same code as the Default Widget, it will be highlighted in yellow and it will be marked as a "DUPLICATE".


For Example:



This indicates that the content of this customized widget is currently exactly the same as the Default Widget.  For the reasons mentioned above, we recommend disabling or deleting any customized widget that is marked as a "Duplicate" to make sure your website continues to use the Default Widget, and therefor the most up-to-date code.  If the Default Widget is updated in the future and this customized widget has not been disabled or deleted, then your website will not receive the update - the customized version of the widget will continue to be used.




A custom version of a widget cannot be saved unless you make changes to the Default Widget.


For the reasons mentioned above, it is always best to use the Default Widgets whenever possible.  A widget should only be customized if it is absolutely necessary to make changes to it.


To protect website owners from creating customized copies of widgets unnecessarily, the system will prevent a custom widget from being saved unless changes were made to the Default Widget.


For example, if I click on "Customize" for a Default Widget like this:




I will then be presented with the contents of the widget so I can make my desired changes:




If I do not make any changes to the widget and then click on "Save Changes", the system will prompt me with an error message and will not save a custom version of the widget:




In order to create a custom version of the widget, I will have to make changes to the content of the widget first.  Once I make my changes, the system will allow me to save a custom version of the widget.  Here is the custom version of the widget after I made my changes: