This functionality allows the owner of a website to create roles for the other Admin accounts that have access to the website. These roles define which section of the Admin each account has access to when they log in.


Navigate to the Admin Roles Page


Settings » Admin Accounts » Admin Role Settings:



NOTE: The "Owner" role is automatically assigned by the system to the owner of the site and cannot be changed. 


Step 1 -


The first step is to create an Admin Role.  This role can then be assigned to one or more Admin account.  To create a Role, click on the "New Admin Role + " button:




Clicking on the "New Admin Role" button will display the following form:




1) Enter a "Role Group Name":



* This will be the name of the Role, so it is recommended to give it a name that will be easy to remember what kind of Admin account it will be for. EG: Developer, Content Writer, Financial Administrator, etc.



2) Enter a short "Role Description":




3) Select the areas of the Admin that this Role will be able to access by selecting the corresponding check-boxes:





After the selection is complete, click on the "Save & Continue" button.  A success message will be displayed after the Role is saved:




NOTE: If there is an error message when saving, please make sure all of the Software Updates found on the Admin Dashboard have been installed. 


The new role will appear inside the "Custom Admin Roles" section:


d



Step 2 -


Assign the new Role to an Admin account by either creating a new Admin account or editing an existing Admin account, and choosing a Role from the "Account Role" drop-down:


** Additional reference: How To Add Additional Operators / Admins For Your Site **


IMPORTANT NOTE : If a Role has not been selected for an Admin Account, the Admin account will have access to all pages in the Admin area.




Click on the drop-down to select from the available Roles:



Below is how the dashboard of the site appears for an Admin account with the Role created in this article:




Additional functionality: When deleting a custom role that has accounts assigned to it, the system will prompt the message: