For more information about the basic concepts of widgets, we would recommend taking a look at the following articles as well:
For more detailed information about the process of customizing a Default Widget, we would recommend checking out this article:
What Are Widgets?
Default Widgets are located in a central database that is accessed "behind the scenes" by all Brilliant Directories websites. Because these widgets are always maintained in a central database, these widgets are always automatically up-to-date.
Default Widgets are maintained and updated often by our internal development team to insure the default functionality of every Brilliant Directories website is working as expected, to add new functionality, and to provide other important updates.
If a website owner never customizes any of the Default Widgets, their website will always be automatically using the most up-to-date code.
All Default Widgets can be viewed by navigating to Toolbox >> Widget Manager in the Admin area of a website:
If a Default Widget has been customized, it will appear in the "Customized Widgets" section of the Toolbox >> Widget Manager page, above the Default Widgets:
If a website owner would like to make a change (customization) to one of the Default Widgets, they can do so by searching for the name of the widget in the "Search Widgets by Keyword" field at the top of the page:
By searching for the widget by viewing the Front End of the website as an Administrator, as shown in the video referenced above in the introduction: (Video) Editing Your Source Code
Once the Default Widget has been found, it can be customized by clicking on the Actions >> Customize button next to the name of the widget:
Clicking on "Customize" will open up the content of the Default Widget so it can be edited:
Once the desired changes are complete, click on "Save Changes", which will save the customized version of this widget to your website. The customized version of this widget will then be used on the website instead of the Default Widget.
For more detailed information about customizing a widget, please see this article: Customizing Widgets
Disabling / Enabling a Customized Widget
Disabling a custom widget will keep a copy of it on your website, but will prevent the system from using the widget on your live website. This is useful if you do not want to permanently delete a widget, but do not want the widget to be active and used on your website. This is also useful if you have a custom copy of a widget on your website and you want to make sure the Default version of the widget is used instead, without permanently deleting the widget.
To do this, click on Actions >> Disable next to the custom widget:
A prompt will appear to confirm you would like to continue. Confirm that you would like to continue.
Once confirmed, the widget will be highlighted in red, and a "DISABLED" tag will be added to the widget:
To re-enable a widget, simply click on Actions >> Enable next to the custom widget:
IMPORTANT: If there are two customized widgets present on a site that have the exact same name, the widget with the greater ID number will be used. In the example above, the version of the widget with the ID 9 will be used instead of the widget with the ID 7. To prevent this kind of conflict which can cause confusion, we recommend re-naming or disabling the version of the widget you do not want to be used on the website.
Deleting a Customized Widget
Deleting a custom widget will permanently remove it from a website. This cannot be un-done, so please be sure you would like the widget to be removed completely before continuing.
Once a custom widget has been deleted, the Default version of the widget can be customized again if you would like to make a new custom version of the widget based on the most recent content of the Default Widget.
To delete a widget, click on Actions >> Delete next to the custom widget: