What Are Widgets?
Default Widgets are located in a central database that is accessed "behind the scenes" by all Brilliant Directories websites. Because these widgets are always maintained in a central database, they are always automatically up-to-date.
Default Widgets are maintained and updated often by our internal development team to insure the default functionality of every Brilliant Directories website is working as expected, to add new functionality, and to provide other important updates.
If a website owner never customizes any of the Default Widgets, their website will always be automatically using the most up-to-date code.
All Default Widgets can be viewed by navigating to Toolbox » Widget Manager in the Admin area of a website:
If a Default Widget has been customized OR a new widget has been created via New Widget button, it will appear in the "Customized Widgets" section of the Toolbox » Widget Manager page, above the Default Widgets:
How Can I Customize These Widgets?
If a website owner would like to customize one of the Default Widgets, they can do so by utilizing the search functionality highlighted down below:
By locating these widgets on the Front End using the Admin Bar, as shown in this article: Locating The Widgets Via Admin Bar
Once the Default Widget has been found, it can be customized by clicking on the Customize button which is under "Actions":
Clicking on "Customize" will open up the content of the Default Widget so it can be edited:
Once the desired changes are complete, click on "Save Changes", which will save the customized version of this widget to the website. The customized version of this widget will then be used on the website instead of the Default Widget.
Edit Widget Tabs
The fourth section called Diff will highlight the difference in code between the default version of the widget vs the custom code:
Important Note: The "Diff" tab is only available for Customized Widgets.
Disabling / Enabling a Customized Widget
Disabling a custom widget will keep the widget on the website, but will prevent the system from using the widget on the live website. This is useful so that the widget is not permanently deleted and instead this disables the widget so it is not active and used on the website.
To do this, click on Actions » Disable next to the custom widget:
A confirmation prompt will appear:
Once confirmed, the widget will be highlighted in red, and a "DISABLED" tag will be added to the widget:
To re-enable a widget, simply click on Actions » Enable next to the custom widget:
IMPORTANT: If there are two customized widgets present on a site that have the exact same name, the widget with the greater ID number will be used. To prevent any kind of conflict which can cause confusion, we recommend re-naming or disabling the version of the widget that will not be used on the website.
Deleting Customized Widgets
Deleting a custom widget will permanently remove it from a website. This cannot be un-done, so please be sure that it is ok that the widget will be removed completely before continuing.
Once a custom widget has been deleted, the Default Version of the widget can be customized again. This is useful for making a new custom version of the widget based on the most recent content of the Default Widget.
To delete a widget, click on Actions » Delete next to the custom widget:
Creating a Brand New Widget
Creating a custom widget can come in handy when adding completely new functionality that the software does not offer by default.
To create a new custom widget navigate to the top right corner of the widget manager and click on "New Widget":
Then name the widget and add the custom code in the respective tab depending on the code language and click save:
After saving the new widget, the module will reload and redirect back to the main widget manager page:
Bulk Actions For Customized Widgets
A) To perform a bulk action on customized widgets, either select all the widgets:
B) Or select the widgets individually:
Then select one of the bulk edit options (Delete Selected. Enable Selected, Disable Selected) and click "Save":